14.—Lieutenant-Governors of Nova Scotia, 1867-1949, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-49, and Present Ministry as at Aug. 1, 1949—concluded

Legislatures, 1934-491

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1933 June 29, 1937 Oct. 28, 1941 Oct. 23, 1945 June 9, 1949	17th General Assembly 18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly	4 4	Mar. 1, 1934	Sept. 19, 1941 Sept. 12, 1945

¹ The Ministries from 1934-49 were: 12th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 5, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald; 13th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. A. S. MacMillan; 14th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 8, 1945, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald, P.C., K.C. ² Legislature not yet opened.

Fourteenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 9, 1949: 28 Liberals, 7 Progressive Conservatives and 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

Note.—Ministers who have held office continuously are shown as at the date of original appointment, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name		Date of Present Appointment	
Premier, President of Council and Provincial Treasurer Attorney General, Minister of Labour, Min-	Hon. Angus L. Macdonald, P.C., K.C., S.J.D.	Sept.	8, 1945	
ister of Public Health (Acting), Minister of Public Welfare (Acting) and Registrar General (Acting). Provincial Secretary, Minister of Mines and Minister of Municipal Affairs	Hon. L. D. Currie, K.C. Hon. Malcolm A. Patterson		8, 1945 10, 1947	
Minister of Agriculture and Marketing and Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Trade and Industry. Minister of Highways and Public Works. Minister without portfolio	Hon. A. W. Mackenzie. Hon. Harold Connolly Hon. Merrill D. Rawding.	Sept.	8, 1945 8, 1945 31, 1947	
Minister without portfolio (in charge of ad- ministration of Nova Scotia Liquor Control Act)	Hon. Geoffrey Stevens	Apr.	4, 1946	

Subsection 4.—New Brunswick

The Province of New Brunswick in all essential features of provincial administration is similar to its neighbour, Nova Scotia. The Executive Council is composed of: the Premier and Attorney General, the Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and President of the Executive Council, the Minister of Public Works, the Minister of Lands and Mines, the Minister of Agriculture, the Minister of Health and Social Services, the Minister of Labour, the Minister of Education and of Federal and Municipal Relations, the Minister of Industry and Reconstruction and a Minister without portfolio who is the Chairman of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission. The Legislative Assembly at present has 52 members who are elected for a term of five years.

The Premier receives a salary of \$5,000 which is in addition to any other portfolio which he may hold. The salary of Cabinet Ministers is \$5,000, the amount paid as indemnity to Members is \$1,500 and the Leader of the Opposition receives \$2,000 in addition. An allowance of \$1,000, in addition to the regular indemnity, is made to the Speaker.